Darling, you can take the girl out of Missouri…

by V. Buritsch-Tompkins

It’s been a little over six months since we moved to Seattle, and the most disorienting thing is not the concientious public shaming or the so-called “Seattle Freeze”. Speaking of which- anyone who says it doesn’t exist is alternately correct and incorrect; the topic is to be explored on a different day, however.

The most disorienting thing about living in Seattle is the combined mixture of crows, seagulls, and pigeons in downtown Seattle. Crows are not an unfamiliar bird for someone from the midwest. They are, in fact, quite common. No, it is how you can walk within two feet of some specimens without distubing their morning breakfast that is admirably different from St. Louis fowl of the same variety. Seagulls, being a water bird, are something I would never think about if I grew up here. Substitute a bright red cardinal in for a seagull, or a smaller black starling to get an accurate perception of my memories. When all three local birds (crow, seagull, pigeon at once) are simultaneously in flight in my peripheral vision, I check my sanity momentarily. I’m in an alternate universe. It’s called Seattle.

