My Beckett is in another Castle…

by V. Buritsch-Tompkins

An Open Letter to ABC

Am I the only one completely heartbroken by the cancellation of Castle?

Okay, I’m going to be clear for a second.  Castle is one of the few prime-time shows that I watched religiously.  My current complete list of shows that I regularly record to watch:

  • Gotham
  • Grimm
  • Doctor Who
  • Castle
  • Agents of Shield

For a while I was watching The Walking Dead, and I did make it through a few seasons of Game of Thrones before my access to HBO became an un-reality.  Haven just wrapped up. My jury is out on Once Upon a Time.

Castle, however, was fun.  Exciting.  The characters – Kate and Richard – were adorable in the will-they-or-won’t-they relationship.  I can tell that the people writing the show felt that way, too, just by the short snippet at the end.

Was the entrance of Haley to potentially have a B-Couple with Esposito?  Was she meant to be a potential break-up-the-main-couple chick for Richard?  I’m so sorry that the love Richard and Kate had was too strong for ugly plot devices.   If that was the only thing that could have pushed its conclusion out for another season, then I’m glad it ended now.

Otherwise, it truly feels like there were more stories to be told, more mysteries to solve, and more fallout from LokSat for Kate to unravel.  But I understand.  All good things must come to an end.

But while I have your ear… I heard that there was a Nancy Drew pilot? Without major doses of chloroform?  What happened to that?  That was supposed to be my post-Castle fix once the SEASON (not SERIES, but what can you do) was over.

Maybe… you have something equally fun planned?  Oh, I truly hope you do.

