Adult Coloring Books – a quick overview

by V. Buritsch-Tompkins

There’s been a little buzz in the air about adult coloring books.  I even was enticed to pick one up as a Secret Santa gift for someone at work.

{In case you were interested, it’s this one.}

I made sure to add colored pencils as well.

The goal of an adult coloring book is twofold, according to people I’ve talked to. One, it’s to take them back to a simpler time, with less stress and problems weighing on them.  Two, it’s a focused activity not unlike a meditative state.  The goal is to come at the task, obey rules (at the leisure of the artist), and create an enjoyable, complete piece.

After looking up the one that I purchased from my colleague, I got to thinking – maybe I’d like one, too.

But that’s the point, right?

I remember one of my colleagues that used to color during down time at work.  She found it soothing, and always picked topics that were fun for her – while there is some childishness in the comic books that she chose from, there’s a lot more variety now.  I even found a Dr. Who one at Barnes and Noble the other day.  (Despite my son being familiar with the good doctor, I chose not to get it – there were some rather unfortunate aliens scattered throughout the pages.)

One thing I may do, however, is collect a few of the “Illustrated Classics” books – books retold from common domain with an illustration on every other page.  With any luck, I may even get my son to color in them.  Maybe.

