The Displacement of Arriving in Everett

by V. Buritsch-Tompkins

Note: This is not the post that I have been fighting with.   I think it might help me finish wrapping my head around the aforementioned post, though.

When you grow up in a town, you are forced, as elementary and middle school students, to learn your local heroes.  Local heroes range from anything notable in literature, the arts, or sports up to future governors and presidents.  You gain insight from the names of streets such as “Chippewa” and places such as “Pere Marquette”.  You learn what significance (or lack thereof) your city has had in society, what homegrown talent arrived and left.

Almost exactly one year ago today, I was still commenting on how strange it was to not live in St. Louis.  How it was so green up here, how the temperatures were so mild.  How the rain really wasn’t as bad as everybody was letting on.  You know, for Seattle, anyway.

And Seattle was progressive.  And interesting.  And exciting.   And the birthplace of Grunge.  And the seat of Amazon, and Microsoft, and other companies.

Almost two years ago today, I gave up on a small project, which led me to bigger projects.

There is nothing like a drive to get to understand the history of a community – to try to connect with its past players and find places in its knowledge to connect with.

It’s silly the things you think about when you get nostalgic.  Like me, remembering how it is, grasping for knowledge as an elementary kid.  I’m doing it again now.  Instead of hunting down early Mark Twain or visiting the Scott Joplin house, I’m reading Norman H. Clark’s  Mill Town.  It’s been… interesting.  It’s also been the second time I’ve cracked the book, but the first time was just skimming to get taste of the flavor of the town.

I’ve been told to visit the “North-West” room in the Everett library.  I’m hoping to find some Max Miller there.  I’m hoping to find the history for a photo of one of the first Asian import stores in early Everett.

I need recommendations for early Seattle next – early authors, heroes, and histories to follow.  I’m intending to start with either Chief Seattle or with some of the other historical monuments out here, but whatever comes next, it’s sure to be new.

 

